Thoughtful Little Caterpillar

Francis Chan writes in Forgotton God,

“Have you ever wondered what caterpillars think?”

I wrote that quote down immediately, for one, because it was something so off the wall, so me, that I had to give it my appreciative shout-out, but also for the sheer lightness and innocence it brought to the page weighted with the topic of the Holy Spirit. (And isn’t a simple caterpillar just as important work of the Spirit as a leaf turning from green to red, or as the cosmic phenomenon of darkness turning into light?)

So, what do caterpillars think?

What do they know of the past and future but the present, unexplainable mystery of change? From the cocoon of transformation, they emerge, unpredictably, a new creature: something different than ever before.

[With wings that weren’t there before].

I feel like a very small thing in a Big World. I feel like a transformation – a work in progress.

A good thing.

Something alive, afterall – and with wings that weren’t there before.